Mermaids!

Well, my (almost) 4 year old daughter has been completely into mermaids since we saw The Little Mermaid on Broadway in February.  When I told her I would make her anything she wanted for her 4th birthday, she immediately asked me to make her a  mermaid doll.  I found a pattern on Crochet Pattern central, and used Simply Soft Quick yarn to make her so large.  I used a K hook.  Then my 9 year old daughter saw her and wanted one as well!  The second doll is made with an I hook and double strands of red heart Light ‘n Lofty yarn, and Lion Brand Homespun for the tail.

Here’s a pic of my older daughter holding them both:

I originally made them wearing bikinis, but felt they were a little too sexy for toys!  Here are the early versions, before I fixed their hair and added more to the tops:

I added more hair to both, and then put a pretty edging on their bikini tops.  I think what really helped was the addition of some blush (I used pink chalk) to the face of the whiter doll.

I’m still experimenting with yarn to find out what I like the most for these dolls.  I want to make the fins a bit more substantial, and play around with beautiful embellishments.  I’m giving these away as birthday presents today, and I’ll start on some new ones for my kids tonight.  Meg’s birthday is Wednesday, so I have to make one for her by then!  Then I have 2 weeks to complete one for my older daughter, and 3 more weeks to make King Triton for my son.

Published in: on May 31, 2008 at 12:34 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bennancecrochet.wordpress.com/2008/05/31/mermaids/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your mermaids came out great! I think I may have to try one! Did you ever get the link to work for a picture of your tote? If not go to my photobucket album and I think you can copy a link there.

    http://s226.photobucket.com/albums/dd173/Caroline_Chrisco/

  2. Cute mermaids and cute little girls. I’m with you on making the tops longer so that they’re not teeny bikini tops!!!!


Leave a Reply

