Living with Memory Loss

Ben’s memory loss primarily affects his visual memory. (I didn’t realize there were so many different types of memory before all this, either!). What this means is that he doesn’t “see” memories in his mind. So he may remember details of a conversation, but he doesn’t always remember who the conversation was with. Or when it happened.

We’ve labeled all the kitchen cabinets in our house so Ben can find things more easily. But this still doesn’t stop him from asking, “Honey, where do we keep the small plates?” Of course, now that the cabinets are labeled, I can answer, “In the cabinet marked ‘small plates,’ dear.” But I’ve found that this usually doesn’t help him too much.

Recently I found myself upset because my favorite towel was always wet after I got out of the shower. I asked Ben several times not to use my towel, because I like to dry off with a dry towel. After this happened a few times, Ben looked at me and said in utter sincerity and embarrassment, “Nancy, when I get out of the shower, I don’t remember which towel is yours and which is mine.”

It never occurred to me that memory is used for so many things.

That night, I took a Sharpie marker and wrote “BEN” repeatedly on both ends of his towels.

We’ve had to adapt a lot.

Often, the cries of our heart are similar to those in 2 Chronicles: “We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.”

Published in: on July 10, 2008 at 11:02 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bennancecrochet.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/living-with-memory-loss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very touching. Ben is truly blessed to have such a wonderful wife like you.


Leave a Reply

