Penguin, and…a giveaway!

I made this fun penguin with the simple pattern from the Lionbrand website.

I used Caron SS Quick yarn, which I bought just to try. I love using chunky yarn to make animals. But I wasn’t really into the SS Quick. Unfortunately, when I ordered the blue yarn online, I accidentally put in the number 12 instead of the number 2 (please tell me I’m not the only one who does these things!). Then life got busy and I forgot to return the yarn (please, also tell me I’m not the only one who does these things!).

So…today I’m hosting my first blog giveaway. Just leave a comment in the comments section (along with your email address), and let me know what you would make with 2 -4 skeins of blue mint Simply Soft Quick yarn. I will choose 2 – 3 winners and send the yarn to you. Giveaway ends Tuesday, July 22nd at midnight.

Oh, and if you decide you want to make a blue penguin, you can find the pattern here.

Published in: on July 15, 2008 at 11:07 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bennancecrochet.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/penguin-anda-giveaway/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oooh Oooh, pick me!! That is my daughter’s favorite color, so it would definitely be going to her. I’d probably make a jacket/shawl type thing as its thick (therefore warm!) My kids also love penguins, so any leftovers would actually probably be made into one or more blue penguins!

  2. What a cute little penguin! Loving that blue color! If I won I’d probably make another Cupcake (from Stitch and Bitch crochet) or maybe the midsummer’s dream camisole from Interweave Crochet. Most likely, it would be something for me! 😀

  3. I’m sure you’re not the only one that has ordered too much yarn and then forgot about it! Great job on the penguin! I work with a charity called Hugs 4 Hope that donate crocheted baby things to hospitals in NY and NC. I think this yarn would be great to make baby sweaters and buntings with since I usually use regular caron ss yarn, perfect softness for the babies! Thanks for the chance to win the yarn! Here’s my email addy just in case! Ty_n_aly03@yahoo.com

  4. I love Caron SS and no, you’re not the only one who does stuff like that, believe me.

    I make a lot of hats and give them to Children’s Mercy Hospital for kids that are taking chemo treatments. The SS makes such soft feeling caps/hats and I’m always gathering any I can find to make more.

    ~ Debby

  5. I’m not good enough yet to make hats suitable to giveaway.I think my hats would make sick people feel worse, but I admire people who do give their work to those who can use a little comfort. I would like to try making crocheted jewelry that i’ve been seeing around these days. cute!

  6. That was a really pretty blue. I looove making crochet toys(they always turn out so cute!), and I just ordered a pattern from kristieskids, so if I won the yarn, I would definetely use it to make one of the kristieskids toys and donate it to her toy drive. I think that’s a really great thing for her to do. It makes me feel all fuzzy inside that I’d be able to help her by doing something I love…lol.

  7. Hiya, such a cute penguin!!! I’d make some baby hats for my local hospital (I’ve got loads ready to go at the moment) and that colour is my favourite colour!!!!

  8. I am on a hat-making kick, so I would make soft, chunky hats with tassels on both sides from the Hip to Knit book. The hats are for a local project called Warm-a-Kid which makes sure all children in our school system have warm coats and winter gear to go with them! Thanks for the chance to win!

  9. I order online a lot too! sometimes it can be a task…I usually end up ordering the wrong color or not enough. Depressing I know. I’d love to try that yarn, I have yet to do so. =) Its cool how you are giving people a chance to win it too! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

